top of page

A New Chapter: Week One

This blog is all about my experiences whilst studying Marketing Management at Manchester Metropolitan University.

Each week I have a three hour session all about 'The Big Agency, which has been created in order to enhance our skills to ultimately become more employable once leaving education. The Big Agency sets tasks throughout the year for us to work on in groups. We have to write a blog post after each session about what I believe I have learned and done, so here goes...


Sessions One:


I was unable to get to this session due to my car breaking down on the motorway (such an inconvenience) however, after catching up from links on my Moodle page, I gathered that this class would reflect on what is it like in the working environment for a Marketer, and that I would soon be completing a project from an external clients brief in groups of 3-5.


The slides off Moodle showed that there had been discussion regarding Maslow's Hierarchy of needs, which I am familiar with as I did Psychology A-Level, so hopefully I can confidently talk about this theory within my work, but also there had been a discussion on what motivates individuals in the professional environment as well as with their personal lives; therefore have been told to write a blog post on what motivates me.



 

What motivates me ??


From a professional perspective I believe that I am motivated if I have great job satisfaction. I want to be able to go to work and thoroughly enjoy the work that I do. I always feel the need for something new to focus on; that could be to achieve a higher rank within a company, or gain a higher salary, but I am also someone that seeks for recognition. When at work, I want the Managers to appreciate the work I do, but I do understand that employers want individuals that are self motivated.


What motivates me on a personal level is thinking about my future. Within the next ten years I aim to be financially stable enough that I can support myself and the lifestyle I wish to have. However, my main motivation and what drives me to succeed at the moment is mainly focused on graduating University. I want my parents and family members to be proud of me; I want to be able to have self-actualisation that I could have achieved something all by myself. (Maslow, 1962).


As strange as it might sound to others, I feel content with myself when I know that I have managed my time very effectively. My day-to-day regime can be very hectic, with University and the workload that comes with it; having a part-time job, as well as volunteering at a Riding for the Disabled Charity; making time everyday to exercise, feed and clean my horse, as well as making time for my family and friends. I am an individual that has a thirst for power and individuality, and knowing that I am in charge of my day-to-day activities makes me feel powerful and in control of my own life.


bottom of page